The ceremonial opening of the Memorial complex «The National Museum of the History of the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945» took place on the Dnipro hills on 9 May 1981.
Creative concept and draft design by the famous sculptor Y. Vuchetych and architect Y. Stamo laid the basis for the museum construction.
A team of sculptors and architects from Kyiv and Moscow has accomplished the design work. Hundreds of well-known enterprises, research institutes and establishments from Ukraine and other republics of the former Soviet Union contributed greatly to its foundation.
The Memorial occupies the area of 10 hectares and includes the Museum with the monument to Motherland, the main square with valley of hero-cities, sculptural compositions named "Fording the Dnipro and Transfer of Weapons, Heroes of the Front and the Rear" with bronze high relief compositions, "Fire of Glory" Cup, Exposition of Fighting Vehicles and Weaponry, as well as separate building with exhibitions of war relics named "Tragedy and Valor of Afghanistan" and "Wars on Foreign Soil". The visitors can explore Li-2 aircraft, Ì³-24Â helicopter, and Ì³G-23 jet fighter.
The main exposition block is a three-storey building which is simultaneously a pedestal for Motherland Monument.
The Memorial complex is one of the most popular memorials of Ukraine; it represents an integral part of the historic and architectural landscape of Kyiv that attracts Kyivans and guests of the city.